LEXINGTON TRIAL LAWYERS
For 25 years, we represented major insurance companies. Now we’re here for you.

What You Should Know About Driving Laws in Kentucky

Published on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:43 pm in Blog.

lawyers in LexingtonLawyers in Lexington often have to deal with the specific details of Kentucky state law. Whether it’s texting and driving, driving under the influence, or dealing with no-fault insurance claims, here’s what all Kentucky drivers need to know about the state’s laws and regulations when it comes to your rights behind the wheel.

  • Using a Cell Phone
    At any given moment throughout the country there will be around 660,000 drivers on the road using a cell phone or other electronic device while driving. However, Kentucky has no regulations concerning the use of handheld phones for talking while driving — except for drivers under age 18. Minors are not permitted to use any type of phone while driving, whether it’s handheld or hands-free.
  • Texting While Driving
    On the other hand, no one is allowed to text and drive. You cannot write, send, or even read a text message while operating a vehicle in motion. This is considered a “primary” law, meaning that a police officer can pull you over for texting, even without witnessing any other violations. A first-time offense may result in a $25 ticket, and $50 for more multiple offenses.
  • Driving Under the Influence
    Kentucky has an “implied consent” law when it comes to blood alcohol content (BAC) tests, meaning that if you refuse one you will be automatically subjected to the applicable fines and license suspensions. The BAC limit for adults 21 and over is .08; for commercial drivers, .04; and for drivers under 21, .02. Alcohol is not the only issue, either; with 10.3 million people admitting to driving under the influence of illicit d
    rugs in 2012, it’s best to always drive sober.
  •  

  • Insurance Requirements
    It is illegal to drive a vehicle in Kentucky without car insurance. You need a minimum $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury coverage and $10,000 for property damage. However, Kentucky is also a “no-fault” state, meaning that your claims go through your own provider no matter who’s to blame for an accident, even in the 333,000 car accidents involving large trucks in the U.S. in 2012.

With all of these special regulations, it’s important to understand your rights. When you have questions regarding legal matters in Kentucky, it’s important to talk with local lawyers in Lexington who will know how to help. Don’t hesitate to give us a call today.

Latest Articles

News & Insights From Golden Law Office